Back to SIGMOBILE Main Page
Comments Contact Us Search and Site Map
Executive Committee
Annual Meetings
Annual Reports
SIGMOBILE Local Chapters
SIGMOBILE Publications
Sponsored Conferences
Sponsored Workshops
In-Cooperation Events
Requesting Sponsorship
Distinguished Service
Outstanding Contribution
Best Paper
SIGMOBILE Membership
Online Application

MobiCom Best Paper Award

Each year since 2008, the MobiCom Technical Program Committee has awarded the MobiCom Best Paper Award for the best paper from among all papers submitted to the annual MobiCom conference that year.

Past Recipients:
MobiCom 2012:
Distinguishing Users with Capacitative Touch Communication, Tam Vu (Rutgers University, USA), Akash Baid (Rutgers University, USA), Simon Gao (Rutgers University, USA), Marco Gruteser (Rutgers University, USA), Richard Howard (Rutgers University, USA), Janne Lindqvist (Rutgers University, USA), Predag Spasojevic (Rutgers University, USA) and Jeffrey Walling (Rutgers University, USA)
MobiCom 2011:The Best Paper Award was given to two papers:
E-MiLi: Energy-Minimizing Idle Listening in Wireless Networks, Xinyu Zhang (University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, USA) and Kang G. Shin (University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, USA)
Detecting Driver Phone Use Leveraging Car Speakers, Jie Yang (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Simon Sdhom (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Gayathri Chandrasekaran (Rutgers University, USA), Tam Vu (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Hongbo Liu (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Nicolae Cecan (Rutgers University, USA), Yingying Chen (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA), Marco Gruteser (Rutgers University, USA), and Richard P. Martin (Rutgers University, USA)
MobiCom 2010:
The κ factor: inferring protocol performance using inter-link reception correlation, Kannan Srinivasan (Stanford University), Mayank Jain (Stanford University), Jung Il Choi (Stanford University), Tahir Azim (Stanford University), Edward S. Kim (University of Southern California), Philip Levis (Stanford University), and Bhaskar Krishnamachari (University of Southern California)
MobiCom 2009:
CENTAUR: Realizing the Full Potential of Centralized WLANs through a Hybrid Data Path, Vivek Shrivastava(University of Wisconsin), Nabeel Ahmed (University of Waterloo), Shravan Rayanchu (University of Wisconsin), Suman Banerjee (University of Wisconsin), Srinivasan Keshav (University of Waterloo), Konstantina Papagiannaki (Intel Labs), and Arunesh Mishra (Google Inc.)
MobiCom 2008:
Assessment of Urban-Scale Wireless Networks with a Small Number of Measurements, Joshua Robinson (Rice University), Ram Swaminathan (HP Labs), and Edward W. Knightly (Rice University)

MobiCom Best Student Paper Award

Prior to 2008, the award was given as the MobiCom Best Student Paper Award for the best paper with a student as the primary author from among all papers submitted to the annual MobiCom conference that year.

Past Recipients:
MobiCom 2007:
Crossing Over the Bounded Domain: From Exponential to Power-law Inter-meeting Time in MANET, Han Cai and Do Young Eun (North Carolina State University)
MobiCom 2006:
A Measurement Study of Vehicular Internet Access Using In Situ Wi-Fi Networks, Vladimir Bychkovsky, Bret Hull, Allen K. Miu, Hari Balakrishnan, Samuel Madden (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
MobiCom 2005:
Architecture and Evaluation of an Unplanned 802.11b Mesh Network, John Bicket, Daniel Aguayo, Sanjit Biswas, and Robert Morris (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
MobiCom 2004:
MobiDesk: Mobile Virtual Desktop Computing, Ricardo A. Baratto, Shaya Potter, Gong Su, Jason Nieh (Columbia University, USA)
MobiCom 2003:
A Receiver-Centric Transport Protocol for Mobile Hosts with Heterogeneous Wireless Interfaces, Hung-Yun Hsieh, Kyu-Han Kim, Yujie Zhu, and Raghupathy Sivakumar (Georgia Tech, USA)
MobiCom 2002:
Zero-Interaction Authentication, Mark Corner and Brian Noble (University of Michigan, USA)
MobiCom 2001:
Exposure In Wireless Ad Hoc Sensor Networks, Seapahn Meguerdichian (University of California, Los Angeles), Farinaz Koushanfar (University of California, Berkeley), Gang Qu (University of Maryland), Miodrag Potkonjak (University of California, Los Angeles)
MobiCom 2000:
A Unified Header Compression Framework for Low-Bandwidth Links, Jeremy Lilley, Jason Yang, Hari Balakrishnan (MIT, USA) and Srinivasan Seshan (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA)
MobiCom '99:
LeZi-Update: An Information-Theoretic Approach to Track Mobile Users in PCS Networks, Amiya Bhattacharya and Sajal K. Das (University of North Texas, USA)
MobiCom '98:
Location-Aided Routing (LAR) in Mobile Ad-Hoc Networks, Young-Bae Ko and Nitin H. Vaidya (Texas A&M University, USA)
MobiCom '97:
Composable Ad-Hoc Mobile Services for Universal Interaction, Todd D. Hodes, Randy H. Katz, Edouard Servan-Scheriber and Lawrence Rowe (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
MobiCom '96:
Low-loss TCP/IP Header Compression for Wireless Networks, Mikael Degermark, Mathias Engan, Bjorn Nordgren and Stephen Pink (Lulea University and the Swedish Insitute of Computer Science, Sweden)
MobiCom '95:
Improving TCP/IP Performance over Wireless Networks, Hari Balakrishnan, Srinivasan Seshan, Elan Amir and Randy H. Katz (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
Nomination Process

For the MobiCom Best Paper Award, all papers submitted to the conference are considered for the award.

Selection Committee

The MobiCom Technical Program Committee forms the Selection Committee for this award. The award includes a plaque and a cash prize.
The ACM Special Interest Group on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data and Computing