Back to SIGMOBILE Main Page
Comments Contact Us Search and Site Map
Executive Committee
Annual Meetings
Annual Reports
SIGMOBILE Local Chapters
SIGMOBILE Publications
Sponsored Conferences
Sponsored Workshops
In-Cooperation Events
Requesting Sponsorship
Distinguished Service
Outstanding Contribution
Best Paper
Research Highlights
Test-of-Time Paper
Doctoral Dissertation
SIGMOBILE Membership
Online Application

The SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award is given for significant and lasting contributions to the research on mobile computing and communications and wireless networking.

2018 Recipient:

Prof. Teresa Meng

For groundbreaking research, engineering and entrepreneurial leadership to make Wi-Fi faster, lower power, and lower cost.

Past Recipients:

Prof. Norm Abramson

For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of random access wireless networking including the development of ALOHA, the first packet data wireless network.

Prof. Mario Gerla

For pioneering contributions to mobile computing, communications and wireless networking.

Prof. Leonard Kleinrock

For pioneering contributions to the first multi-hop packet switched radio network which formed the foundation for modern wireless networks.

Dr. Victor Bahl

For pioneering contributions to wireless Internet broadband technologies, and for inspirational leadership of the mobile computing community.

Prof. P. R. Kumar

For pioneering contributions to the foundations of asymptotic performance analysis of large scale wireless networks.

Prof. Mahadev Satyanarayanan

For pioneering a wide spectrum of technologies in support of disconnected and weakly connected mobile clients

Prof. Deborah Estrin

For significant technical contributions and global advocacy of networked embedded systems

Prof. David E. Culler

For developing the TinyOS platform which significantly advanced wireless sensor networking research and associated applications

Prof. Daniel P. Siewiorek

For pioneering and fundamental contributions to wearable and context-aware computing

Prof. Andy Hopper

For pioneering new areas of research in wireless and mobile computing, driven by a unique blend of innovative academic research and recognition of its commercial potential

Prof. Ian F. Akyildiz

For pioneering contributions in the area of mobility and resource management for wireless communication networks

Prof. Randy H. Katz

For excellence in research and teaching of mobile computing systems and wireless networking

Prof. Imrich Chlamtac

For significant contributions to the design of distributed scheduling channel access protocols and leadership in mobile communications

Dr. Mark. D. Weiser

For fundamental contributions and leadership in developing the field of ubiquitous computing

Prof. Robert W. Brodersen

For ideas fundamental to the emergence of low power radio frequency communications devices and systems for handheld computers

Prof. David J. Goodman

For fundamental contributions to the theory of multiple access protocols for radio frequency communications

Prof. Anthony Ephremides

For fundamental contributions to statistical communications theory and its application to wireless and satellite systems

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Outstanding Contribution Award should be submitted by February 15 of each year to the chair of the ACM SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award Committee, Edward Knightly, at knightly!@!
Each nomination should consist of the following items:
1. Name, address, phone number, and email address of the person making the nomination.
2. Curriculum vitae, including publications, of the nominee.
3. Name, address, phone number, and email address of the candidate for whom an award is recommended. Please indicate which award the nominee is recommended for.
4. A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the candidate deserves the particular award.
5. Minimum of three and maximum of five supporting letters from individuals and organizations who endorse the nomination. Names, addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses of the supporting contacts must be included.
The award is usually given annually and will be presented at one of ACM SIGMOBILE's conferences during the ensuing year following selection of a winning nomination.

Please note:
1. Self-nominations are not accepted.
2. The nominee need not be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE.
3. the nominator must be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE.
4. Nominations which did not result in a award can be resubmitted and updated in subsequent years.
5. Previous recipients are not eligible for future nominations.
6. Members of the SIGMOBILE Executive Committee are not eligible.

Selection Committee

The Outstanding Contribution Awards is the highest honor the SIGMOBILE community bestows on an individual. It is a recognition of the lasting technical contribution made by this person and the influence he or she has had on our field. The Selection Committee for the award includes the past winners and the SIGMOBILE Chair.

The ACM Special Interest Group on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data and Computing