Back to SIGMOBILE Main Page
Comments Contact Us Search and Site Map
Executive Committee
Annual Meetings
Annual Reports
SIGMOBILE Local Chapters
SIGMOBILE Publications
Sponsored Conferences
Sponsored Workshops
In-Cooperation Events
Requesting Sponsorship
Distinguished Service
Outstanding Contribution
Best Paper
SIGMOBILE Membership
Online Application

This year, SIGMOBILE will hold elections for new officers -- for Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary. The term of the elected officers will run from 1 July 2005 to 30 June 2007. The following candidates will appear on the ballot:
   David B. Johnson
   Thomas F. La Porta

Vice Chair
   Nigel Davies
   Jason Redi

   Tracy Camp
   Suresh Singh
   Yongguang Zhang

   Chiara Petrioli
   Raghupathy Sivakumar

Biographical information and a statement from each candidate are available from the links for each name above.

Here are the logistics for the upcoming SIGMOBILE elections:

  • Most important -- to vote -- you must be member of SIGMOBILE. If your membership is expiring, please renew it. If you are not a member of SIGMOBILE, and you care about SIGMOBILE, become a member. Full details on SIGMOBILE membership and a pointer to an on-line membership application form are available on the SIGMOBILE membership web page.

  • The 2005 elections will be conducted electronically by the Election Services Corporation (ESC).

  • Postcards with election information will be mailed to all SIGMOBILE members on 1 April. These postcards will contain a pointer to the electronic voting site as well as to the biographical information of the candidates.

  • In addition, we will send out an email that contains the voting validation numbers (i.e., the member's unique PIN #) and a hyperlink to the voting site. The Internet voting site will go live on the same day as the email message and postcards are sent.

  • Paper ballots will be issued upon request only.

  • All ballots are due on or before 15 June 2005.

  • All winners will take office on 1 July 2005.
This process is designed to make elections run smoothly and fairly. We hope you will participate in this important process and vote for the candidate you think is best suited for each job.

The ACM Special Interest Group on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data and Computing