SIGMOBILE Distinguished Service Award

The SIGMOBILE Distinguished Service Award is given for exceptional contributions to ACM SIGMOBILE, its conferences, publications, or its local activities.

2020 Recipient

Eyal de Lara

For his outstanding leadership in creating GetMobile.

Past Recipients

Jason Redi
In recognition of his outstanding service in making Mobile Computing and Communications Review a flagship journal for ACM SIGMOBILE.
Victor Bahl
In recognition of his passion about and effectiveness in advancing the interests of ACM SIGMOBILE and MobiCom.
David B. Johnson
In recognition of his perennially vital and consistently excellent service to ACM SIGMOBILE MobiCom.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Distinguished Service Award should be submitted to the vice-chair of ACM SIGMOBILE, Jason Flinn, by emailing the nomination to Nominations for the 2021 Award must be received by March 31, 2021 11:59:59 PM AOE.

Each nomination should consist of the following items:

  1. Name, affiliation, and email address of the person making the nomination.
  2. Name, affiliation, and email address of the candidate for whom an award is recommended. Please indicate which award the nominee is recommended for.
  3. A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the candidate deserves the particular award.
  4. Minimum of three and maximum of five supporting letters from individuals and organizations who endorse the nomination. Names, affiliation, and email addresses of the supporting contacts must be included.

The nominations will be reviewed by a committee appointed by the ACM SIGMOBILE Chair. The award will be presented at one of ACM SIGMOBILE's conferences during the ensuing year following selection of a winning nomination.

Please note: Self-nominations are not accepted. The nominee and the nominator must be members of ACM SIGMOBILE. Previous recipient are not eligible for future nominations.

Selection Committee

The Distingushed Service Award is based on the value and degree of service to the SIGMOBILE community. The Selection Committee for the award includes past winners and the SIGMOBILE Executive Committee.