MobiCom 2016 / New York, USA / TBA, 2016
Photo info

Photo by
Thomas Hawk.

The photo is copyrighted by its owner. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use prohibited.



 Call for Apps 


MobiCom 2016 is pleased to organize the 4th Mobile App competition in conjunction with the main conference. The competition is for novel and innovative mobile applications utilizing any computing architecture (stand-alone, client/server, client/proxy/server, peer-to-peer/ad-hoc, cloud/mobile, others). It is intended as a platform-neutral contest. Applications can be developed for, but not limited to, Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Blackberry OS 10 and HTML5.

To participate in the competition, you are required to submit a one-page proposal, a video demo, and your app binary for evaluation. Only a selected set of Finalists advance to enter the last phase of selecting the three top winners. The winner apps will be promoted on the MobiCom website and get a prize during the conference. More details about the requirements and evaluation criteria are available for downloading as a pdf file here.

All applications must be demonstrated on real devices. Network services that are part of the application should also be real services embodying no mock-up components.

Finalists are required to register and attend the conference in order to be considered by the jury for first, second and third place winners. The Finalists will be allowed to register at the Early-Registration fee, even if the deadline for early registration has passed.

All submissions should be sent to

September 1st 8th:App proposal due
September 10th 15th:Finalists notified of selection
October 4th:Finalists present in front of MobiCom App Panel

Congratulations to the MobiCom 2016 App Contest Finalists! The finalists will be presenting their applications during a session at the MobiCom conference, on Tuesday 4 October from 4:30 - 5:30pm.

The list of finalists is as follows:
  • Omar Aponte, Rute Sofia, Luis Lopes, Paulo Mendes
Smart fLAIr
  • Jan Bauer, Bastian Siegmann, Thomas Jarmer, Nils Aschenbruck
PerSense Mobile Light
  • Igor dos Santos, Rute C. Sofia
  • Xaime Rivas Rey, James Chacko, Logan Henderson, Kapil Dandekar
  • George Roussos
  • Ryan H Kelly, Daniela Rus, Ryan Kelly, Tyler Wasser
Conference App
  • Youngki Lee, Rajesh Krishna Balan, Ritesh Kumar
  • Lei Kang, Suman Banerjee, Bozhao Qi
  • Casas Pedro, Florian Wamser, Michael Seufert
  • Luyang Liu, Cagdas Karatas, Hongyu Li, Jian Liu, Marco Gruteser, Yan Wang, Yingying Chen, Richard P. Martin
Lokemon: Location-specific Monsters as a Sensor (Winner of the Competition)
  • Mina Sakamura, Takuro Yonezawa, Tadashi Okoshi, Jin Nakazawa, Hideyuki Tokuda

Home | About | Committees | Program | Registration |Venue & Hotels | Workshops | Sponsorships | Demos & Exhibits | Posters
App Contest | MobiJob | SRC | Grants | CFP | Camera | Panel | Keynotes