Sponsors acm sigmobile usenix Supporters Intel Microsoft Research IBM Nokia NSF
MobiSys 2008

Important Dates

Abstracts due: 26 November 2007
Full papers due: 3 December 2007
Notification of acceptance: 4 March 2008
Final camera-ready due: 5 April 2008

Abstracts are due by 23:59 EST on Monday, November 26, 2007. Full papers are due by 23:59 EST on Monday, December 3, 2007. These are hard deadlines; no extensions will be granted.

MobiSys 2008 seeks to present innovative and significant research on the design, implementation, usage, and evaluation of mobile computing and wireless systems, applications, and services. This conference builds on the success of the previous five MobiSys conferences. It is jointly sponsored by ACM SIGMOBILE and the USENIX Association.

Call for Papers (PDF copy)

Submission Guidelines

We seek papers that take a broad systems perspective rather than focus narrowly on low-level components. We value results and insights obtained from working implementations more highly than those obtained solely from simulations. If you have any questions regarding relevance or other submission-related issues, please contact the program chairs at mobisys2008pcchairs@cs.toronto.edu. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Design, implementation, and evaluation of mobile and wireless systems
  • Middleware and service architectures for mobile and wireless applications
  • Data management for mobile and wireless applications
  • Operating systems for resource-constrained mobile devices
  • Disconnected and weakly connected operation
  • Proxies and data adaptation
  • Mobile agents
  • Infrastructure support for mobility
  • Security and privacy in mobile and wireless systems
  • System-level energy management for mobile and wireless devices
  • Wearable and handheld devices in the context of system design
  • Personal-area networks and systems
  • Cyber foraging and resource discovery for mobile services
  • Systems for context sensing and context awareness
  • Tools and design methodologies for building mobile and wireless systems
  • Mobile computing support for pervasive computing
  • User interfaces and usability issues for mobile and wireless applications
  • Experience with mobile and wireless systems
  • Experience with sensor networks and systems
  • Support for social networking

Submissions should be full papers, up to 14 single-spaced 8.5" x 11" pages, including figures, tables, and references, in two-column format, using 10-point type on 12-point (single-spaced) leading with reasonable margins. The first page of each paper should include the names and affiliations of the authors, i.e., the submissions should not be anonymous. Submissions will be judged on originality, significance, interest, clarity, relevance, and technical correctness. Accepted papers will be shepherded by a member of the program committee.

MobiSys, like most conferences and journals, requires that papers must not be submitted simultaneously to any other conference or publication, that submissions must not be previously published, and that accepted papers must not be subsequently published elsewhere. Papers accompanied by nondisclosure agreement forms are not acceptable and will be returned to the author(s) unread. As customary with the scientific peer review process, submissions will be handled as confidential material during the review.

Abstracts are due by 23:59 EST on Monday, November 26, 2007. Full papers are due by 23:59 EST on Monday, December 3, 2007. These are hard deadlines; no extensions will be granted.

General Co-Chairs

Dirk Grunwald, University of Colorado, US
Richard Han, University of Colorado, US

Steering Committee Chair

Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research, US

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Eyal de Lara, University of Toronto, CA
Carla Ellis, Duke University, US

Program Committee

Gaetano Borriello, University of Washington, US
Ramón Cáceres, AT&T Labs, US
Ranveer Chandra, Microsoft Research, US
Mark Corner, University of Massachusetts Amherst, US
Landon Cox, Duke University, US
Nigel Davies, Lancaster University, UK
Maria R. Ebling, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, US
Deborah Estrin, University of California, Los Angeles, US
Hans Gellersen, Lancaster University, UK
Urs Hengartner, University of Waterloo, CA
Anthony D. Joseph, University of California, Berkeley, US
Christine Julien, University of Texas at Austin, US
Todayoshi Kohno, University of Washington, US
Robin Kravets, U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, US
Anthony LaMarca, Intel Research Seattle, US
Natalia Marmasse, Google, Haifa, IL
M. Satyanarayanan, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Liuba Shrira, Brandeis University, US
Doug Terry, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, US
Roy Want, Intel Research, US
Matt Welsh, Harvard University, US
Lin Zhong, Rice University, US

Poster and Demo Chair

Landon Cox, Duke University, US

Workshop Chair

Katie A. Siek, University of Colorado, US

Publications Chair

Anmol Sheth, Intel Research, US

Publicity Chair

Alex Varshavsky, University of Toronto, CA

Local Arrangements Chair

Mike Colagrosso, Colorado School of Mines, US