MobiHoc 2006


Technical Presentations


Tuesday, 23 May

8.30 - 8.45: Welcome and Opening remarks

8.45 - 9.45: Keynote Speech by Jean-Pierre Hubeaux (EPFL)

9.45 - 10.15: Coffee Break

10.15 - 12.15: Technical Session 1: Routing and Forwarding

Session Chair: Per Gunningberg (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Mistral: Efficient Flooding in Mobile Ad-Hoc Networks
Stefan Pleisch (Cornell University),
Mahesh Balakrishnan (Cornell University),
Ken Birman (Cornell University),
Robbert van Renesse (Cornell University)

Minimizing Recovery State in Geographic Ad-Hoc Routing
Noa Arad (Tel-Aviv University),
Yuval Shavitt (Tel-Aviv University)

Asymptotic Critical Transmission Radius for Greedy Forward Routing in Wireless Ad Hoc Networks
Peng-Jun Wan (Illinois Institute of Technology),
Chih-Wei Yi (National Chiao Tung University)

Message Ferry Route Design for Sparse Ad hoc Networks with Mobile Nodes
Muhammad Mukarram Bin Tariq (Georgia Institute of Technology),
Mostafa Ammar (Georgia Institute of Technology),
Ellen Zegura (Georgia Institute of Technology)

12.15 - 13.45: Lunch

13.45 - 15.45: Technical Session 2: Mobility Models

Session Chair: Paolo Santi (IIT-CNR, Italy)

Performance Analysis of Mobility-assisted Routing
Akis Spyropoulos (University of Southern California),
Konstantinos Psounis (Stanford University),
Cauligi Raghavendra (University of Southern California)

Model T++: An Empirical Joint Space-Time Registration Model
Dan Lelescu (DoCoMo-Labs),
Ulas Kozat (DoCoMo-Labs),
Ravi Jain (Google),
Mahadevan Balakrishnan (DoCoMo-Labs)

Analysis of Random Mobility Models with PDE's
Michele Garetto (Politecnico di Torino),
Emilio Leonardi (Politecnico di Torino)

Modeling Steady-state and Transient Behaviors of User Mobility: Formulation, Analysis, and Application
Jong-Kwon Lee (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign),
Jennifer Hou (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

15.45 - 16.15: Coffee break

16.15 - 17.45: Technical Session 3: Analysis, Simulation and Experimentation

Session Chair: Eylem Ekici (Ohio State University, USA)

Balancing Distance and Lifetime in Delay Constrained Ad Hoc Networks
Ben Liang (University of Toronto),
Min Dong (Qualcomm Inc.)

The Study of Inter-Vehicle Ad Hoc Networks on Realistic Vehicular Traces
Valery Naumov (ETH Zurich),
Rainer Baumann (ETH Zurich),
Thomas Gross (ETH Zurich)

Jamming and Sensing of Encrypted Wireless Ad Hoc Networks
Timothy Brown (University of Colorado),
Jesse James (University of Colorado)

Wednesday, 24 May

8.30 - 10.30: Technical Session 4: Connectivity and Coverage

Session Chair: Doug Blough (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)

Deploying Wireless Sensors to Achieve Both Coverage and Connectivity
Xiaole Bai (The Ohio-State University),
Santosh Kumar (The Ohio State University),
Ziqiu Yun (Suzhou University),
Dong Xuan (The Ohio State University),
Ten-Hwang Lai (Ohio State University)

Energy Conservation in Wireless Sensor Networks via Domatic Partitions
Sriram Pemmaraju (The University of Iowa),
Imran Pirwani (The University of Iowa)

Delay of intrusion detection in wireless sensor networks
Olivier Dousse (EPFL), Christina Tavoularis (Cornell University), Patrick Thiran (EPFL)

Mobile Backbone Networks - Construction and Maintenance
Anand Srinivas (MIT),
Gil Zussman (MIT),
Eytan Modiano (MIT)

10.30 - 11.00: Coffee Break

11.00 - 13.00: Technical Session 5: Medium Access Control

Session Chair: Samir R. Das (SUNY at Stony Brook, USA)

Interaction of Rate and Medium Access Control in Wireless Networks: The Single Cell Case
Yiping Gong (University of Toronto),
Peter Marbach (University of Toronto)

DRAND: Distributed Randomized TDMA Scheduling For Wireless Ad-hoc Networks
Injong Rhee (North Carolina State University),
Ajit Warrier (North Carolina State University),
Jeongki Min (North Carolina State University),
Lisong Xu (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)

Adaptive Splitting Protocols for RFID Tag Collision Arbitration
Jihoon Myung (Korea University),
Wonjun Lee (Korea University)

Starvation Mitigation Through Multi-Channel Coordination in CSMA Multi-hop Wireless Networks
Jingpu Shi (Rice University),
Theodoros Salonidis (Rice University),
Edward W. Knightly (Rice University)

13.00 - 14.30: Lunch

14.30- 16.00: Poster & Demo Sessions (in parallel)

15.30 - 16.00: Coffee Break

16.00 - 17.15: Panel
Putting Technologies for Channelized Multi-hop Wireless Networks on trial: Increasing Throughput or Complexity?
Panel Organizer: Tom La Porta (Penn State University)

17.15: Tour to San Gimignano and Social Dinner

Thursday, 25 May

8.30 - 10.30: Technical Session 6 : Location and Membership Services

Session Chair: Jennifer Hou (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

MLS: An Efficient Location Service for Mobile Ad Hoc Networks
Roland Flury (ETH, Zurich),
Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich)

RaWMS - Random Walk based Lightweight Membership Service for Wireless Ad Hoc Networks
Ziv Bar-Yossef (Technion),
Roy Friedman (Technion),
Gabriel Kliot (Technion)

Robust Distributed Node Localization with Error Management
Juan Liu (Palo Alto research Center),
Ying Zhang (Palo Alto Research Center),
Feng Zhao (Microsoft Research)

Distributed Localization by Noisy Distance and Angle Information
Amitabh Basu (Stony Brook University),
Jie Gao (Stony Brook University),
Joseph Mitchell (Stony Brook University),
Girishkumar Sabhnani (Stony Brook University)

10.30 - 11.00: Coffee Break

11.00 - 13.00: Technical Session 7: Theory

Session Chair: Patrick Thiran (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland)

Throughput and Delay Optimization in Interference-Limited Multi-Hop Networks
Ahmed Bader (Ohio State University),
Eylem Ekici (Ohio State University)

Proportionally fair allocation of end-to-end bandwidth in STDMA networks
Pablo Soldati (Royal Institute of Technology),
Bjorn Johansson (Royal Institute of Technology),
Mikael Johansson (Royal Institute of Technology)

Algorithmic Aspects of Communication in Ad-Hoc Networks with Smart Antennas
Karthikeyan Sundaresan (Georgia Institute of Technology),
Stephan Eidenbenz (Los Alamos National Laboratory),
Weizhao Wang (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Topology Control Meets SINR: The Scheduling Complexity of Arbitrary Topologies
Thomas Moscibroda (ETH Zurich),
Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich),
Aaron Zollinger (ETH Zurich)

13.00 - 14.30: Lunch

14.30 - 16.30: Technical Session 8: Sensor Networks

Session Chair: Laura Galluccio (University of Catania, Italy)

Wakeup Scheduling in Wireless Sensor Networks
Abtin Keshavarzian (Robert Bosch Corporation),
Huang Lee (Stanford University),
Lakshmi Venkatraman (Robert Bosch Corporation),
Dhananjay Lal (Robert Bosch Corp, Research),
Krishna Chintalapudi (University of Southern California),
Bhaskar Srinivasan (Robert Bosch Corporation)

Fundamental Scaling Laws for Energy-Efficient Storage and Querying in Wireless Sensor Networks
Joon Ahn (University of Southern California),
Bhaskar Krishnamachari (University of Southern California)

Data Storage Placement in Sensor Networks
Bo Sheng (College of William and Mary),
Qun Li (College of William and Mary),
Weizhen Mao (College of William and Mary)

SDAP: A Secure Hop-by-Hop Data Aggregation Protocol for Sensor Networks
Yi Yang (Pennsylvania State University),
Xinran Wang (Pennsylvania State University),
Sencun Zhu (Pennsylvania State University),
Guohong Cao (Pennsylvania State University)

16.30 - 17.00: Closing session & Coffee break


Last modified 12-05-2006