SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award

The SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award is given for significant and lasting contributions to the research on mobile computing and communications and wireless networking.

The submission site for nominations is open for the 2023 round. Deadline: 28th February, 2023.

2022 Recipient

Andrea Goldsmith

For outstanding contributions to multi-antenna wireless communications through fundamental research, successful entrepreneurship, and inspired leadership.

Past Recipients

Marty Cooper

For seminal contributions to the conception, practice and adoption of portable telephony.

Roy Want

For hardware and software contributions to the conception and practice of context-aware mobile computing.

Teresa Meng

For groundbreaking research, engineering and entrepreneurial leadership to make Wi-Fi faster, lower power, and lower cost.

Norm Abramson

For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of random access wireless networking including the development of ALOHA, the first packet data wireless network.

Mario Gerla

For pioneering contributions to mobile computing, communications and wireless networking.

Leonard Kleinrock

For pioneering contributions to the first multi-hop packet switched radio network which formed the foundation for modern wireless networks.

Victor Bahl

For pioneering contributions to wireless Internet broadband technologies, and for inspirational leadership of the mobile computing community.

P. R. Kumar

For pioneering contributions to the foundations of asymptotic performance analysis of large scale wireless networks.

Mahadev Satyanarayanan

For pioneering a wide spectrum of technologies in support of disconnected and weakly connected mobile clients.

Deborah Estrin

For significant technical contributions and global advocacy of networked embedded systems.

David E. Culler

For developing the TinyOS platform which significantly advanced wireless sensor networking research and associated applications.

Daniel P. Siewiorek

For pioneering and fundamental contributions to wearable and context-aware computing.

Andy Hopper

For pioneering new areas of research in wireless and mobile computing, driven by a unique blend of innovative academic research and recognition of its commercial potential.

Ian F. Akyildiz

For pioneering contributions in the area of mobility and resource management for wireless communication networks.

Randy H. Katz

For excellence in research and teaching of mobile computing systems and wireless networking.

Imrich Chlamtac

For significant contributions to the design of distributed scheduling channel access protocols and leadership in mobile communications.

Mark. D. Weiser

For fundamental contributions and leadership in developing the field of ubiquitous computing.

Robert W. Brodersen

For ideas fundamental to the emergence of low power radio frequency communications devices and systems for handheld computers.

David J. Goodman

For fundamental contributions to the theory of multiple access protocols for radio frequency communications.

Anthony Ephremides

For fundamental contributions to statistical communications theory and its application to wireless and satellite systems.

Nomination Process

Each nomination should consist of the following items:

  1. Name, address, phone number, and email address of the nominator, nominee, and endorsers.
  2. Curriculum vitae, including a list of publications and/or accomplishments, of the nominee.
  3. Nominator’s statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the nominee deserves the Outstanding Contribution Award.
  4. Minimum of three and maximum of five supporting statements from individuals who endorse the nomination. Endorsements may be in the form of emails and should not be longer than 500 words.

The award is usually given annually and will be presented at one of ACM SIGMOBILE's conferences during the year following selection of a winning nomination.

Please note:

  1. All materials must be submitted by the nominator, on or before February 28.
  2. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  3. The nominee need not be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE.
  4. The nominator must be a member of ACM SIGMOBILE.
  5. An individual may nominate, or endorse, multiple nominees.
  6. Per ACM policy, no members of the selection committee may serve as nominator or endorser.
  7. Nominations that did not result in an award can be resubmitted and updated in subsequent years.
  8. Members of the SIGMOBILE Executive Committee or the OCA Selection Committee are not eligible.

Submit your nominations here. Note: Please combine all nomination material into one pdf file for your submission to the HotCRP system.

Selection Committee

The Outstanding Contribution Awards is the highest honor the SIGMOBILE community bestows on an individual. It is a recognition of the lasting technical contribution made by this person and the influence he or she has had on our field. The Selection Committee for the award includes the past winners and the SIGMOBILE Chair.

Please direct questions to Ashutosh Sabharwal ( Award Committee Chair.