Newsletter of February 2019

Upcoming SIG Events

  • ACM HotMobile 2019 will be held in Santa Cruz, California, on February 27 and 28. Check out the program here.
  • ACM MobiSys 2019 will be held in June 17 – 21 in Seoul, South Korea. 172 submissions were received and are currently under review.
  • ACM MobiCom 2019 will be held in October 21 – 25Los Cabos, Mexico. Paper submission deadline in the winter round is March 12, 2019.
  • ACM UbiComp 2019 will be held in London in September 11 – 13, 2019.
  • ACM SenSys 2019 will be held in New York in November 10 – 13, 2019. Paper submission deadline is April 12, 2019.

SIG News

  • It is with great sadness and heavy hearts that we let you know that SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award winner Professor Mario Gerla passed away. Len Kleinrock writes:

    Professor Mario Gerla passed away on February 9, 2019 after a prolonged battle with pancreatic cancer. He was 75 years old.

    Mario was born in Arona, Italy in 1943 and grew up in Milan. He received an engineering degree from the Politecnico di Milano in 1966 and completed service in the Italian navy before moving to the United States in 1969 to join the team at UCLA working on the ARPANET led by his advisor Leonard Kleinrock. He received his MS and PhD degrees from UCLA in 1970 and 1973, respectively. From 1973 to 1976, he was a manager in Network Analysis Corporation in Glen Cove, NY, where he was involved in several computer network design projects for both government and industry.

    Since 1977, Mario has been on the Faculty of the Computer Science Department of UCLA, where he held the Jonathan B. Postel Chair and served as Department Chair from 2015 to 2018. He was the Director of the Center for Autonomous Intelligent Networks and the Network Research Lab. His research focused on the design, performance evaluation, and control of distributed computer communication systems and networks. As a pioneer in computer networking, his early work optimized that which we now know as the Internet. Over the course of his career at UCLA he graduated more than 100 PhD students from all over the world. For his work in the field of mobile ad hoc networks he was made a Fellow of IEEE and ACM, received the SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award, and was recognized for lifetime achievement awards by INFOCOM and MILCOM.

    Although he left Italy nearly 50 years ago, he always maintained a close connection with his family and research colleagues in his homeland. He helped to found the Italian Scientists and Scholars of North America Foundation (ISSNAF) and was honored with the Officer of the Italian Republic Order of Merit.

    Mario was a marathoner, triathlete and member of the UCLA Masters Swim Club. He was also an ardent traveler who was proud to have visited all 7 continents and swum in 6 of 7 seas during his lifetime.

    Mario is survived by his wife, Maggi, his daughters, Marisa and Cristina, and his siblings Emma, Silvia, and Franco.

  • ACM HotMobile 2019 is right around the corner. As the 25th edition of the workshop, this year’s HotMobile is special. We will celebrate the "25 Years of Mobile Computing" and return to the exact location of the 1994 workshop (Dream Inn in Santa Cruz, CA). In addition to 26 technical papers, this year’s program features a unique Pioneers Panel about the past, present, and future of mobile computing. It also includes a keynote titled “A view from industry: securing IoT with Azure Sphere” by Edmund Nightingale from Microsoft. Please do join us at Santa Cruz!

  • 2018 ACM Fellows have been announced. Congratulations to our very own Elizabeth M. Belding, Tian He, Wendi Beth Heinzelman, Lili Qiu, Alex C. Snoeren, and Alec Wolman!

  • Multiple SIGMOBILE awards are now calling for nominations. Consider submitting your nominations!

    • SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award: SIGMOBILE’s highest honor given for significant and lasting contributions to research on mobile computing and communications and wireless networking. The 2018 award winner is Teresa Meng. The deadline for nomination is February 15, 2019. Check this link for nomination instructions and eligibility requirements.
    • SIGMOBILE RockStar Award: SIGMOBILE’s early career award to recognize recent outstanding research or product contributions to the field of mobile computing. The 2018 award winner is Kyle Jamieson. The deadline for nomination is February 15, 2019. Check this link for nomination instructions and eligibility requirements.
    • SIGMOBILE Doctoral Dissertation Award: The award will recognize thesis research by doctoral candidates in the field of mobile computing and wireless networks. The award winner and up to two runners-up will be recognized at one of the ACM SIGMOBILE conferences that the winner chooses. This year the committee is chaired by David Culler and Lili Qiu. The submission deadline is February 28, 2019. Please check out details on the eligibility here.
  • Pointers: Our social media (managed by Dr. Tadashi Okoshi) can be accessed here: Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter.

Previous Post